"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it.A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

The author claims that addition of bicycle lane to Blue Highway would reduce the traffic jam. He cites an example of Green Highway and keen bicyclist to support his argument. The argument, however, is based on several assumptions it need to be substantiated with further evidence.

Firstly, author assumes that the commuters complaint that increase rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburb and the city center has double their commuting time, it is only because of the rush-hour traffic. But there can be other factors that are responsible for doubling their commuting time. It is possible that there is no traffic signal or traffic controller on the Blue Highway and therefore traffic is not get managed properly. Even if there is a traffic controller then it is possible that he can’t handle all the traffic. It is also possible that even after there is a traffic signal and traffic controller available, the time for which vehicles have to wait on signal is very large, this factors are also responsible for doubling the commuting time. Thus, author has not considered other factors to support his argument.

Secondly, author assumes that the proposal of the motorist to widen the highway, or adding the additional lane seems unconvincing decision to author because the addition of lane on the Green Highway has worsen the traffic. However, author does not take into consideration the relative traffic of Green Highway and Blue Highway. Again the type of vehicle that passes through the highway, if heavy load vehicles, such as, trucks passes through Green Highway’s additional lane then, it is quite possible that even they add one more lane on Green Highway the traffic will always get jam. But what applies to Green Highway may not be applicable to Blue Highway. So the author's argument seems unconvincing here because he has not taken into consideration the relative traffic on Blue Highway and types of vehicles that passes through that Highway.

Thirdly, author presupposes that the solution for the traffic jam problem is to add bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Author states that many area residents are keen bicyclist. In spite of the residents are keen bicyclist, it is possible that every resident does not have bicycle, or even if they had bicycle they would prefer to go with vehicle to save their commuting time. In addition there can be residents who are above 60-70 age, so they were not able to use bicycle for commuting. So the authors solution of adding bicycle lane would not be applicable to each resident.

Lastly, author concludes that adding bicycle lane would encourage people to use bicycle and so would reduce the rush-hour traffic rather than increasing. But even after considering all the factors mentioned above for the bicyclist, they add bicycle lane but people are still using vehicles then this is not a profitable move and will not offer solution to the traffic problem.

Thus, to strengthen the argument the author should give other factors responsible for increasing commuting time, how much is the traffic on Blue Highway and Green Highway, which types of vehicles passes through Blue Highway and no of bicycle users, before considering that adding bicycle lane will reduce traffic problem.