1. "Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

The above lines state that the commuters have been complaining that the increased rush hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase. Before analyzing the above argument, certain questions have to be answered.

Firstly, will widening the highway reduce the rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city similar to that of Green Highway? The commuters had already complained that due to the increasing traffic, the daily commute time for the people has been doubled. Proper evidence such as surveys and statistics have to be gathered along with the dimensions of the highway before construction of an additioal lane. Only then the propasal favouring the addition of an extra lane to the already existing highway might hold firm else there is a high chance that the traffic might even get worse on a whole. Since the above claim is quite vague with no proper supporting evidence, the primary conclusion in the above argument is gradually weakened.

Secondly, is it true that the last year's construction of an addtional lane to the Green Highway has worsened the traffic condition? The author states that it has rather worsened than improve the traffic on construction of an extra lane on Green Highway and supports his claim without any evidence such as facts and surveys. A question has to be raised about the analogy between the Blue Highway and Green Highway before coming to conclusion and must be taken further accordingly. Due to lack of such evidence such as statistics and surveys, the aboe argument does not hold firm.

Thirdly, the author argues of adding a bicycle lane to the highway with an intention to curb the rush hour traffic. There has been no proper evidence supporting the fact that the people in the area are keen bicyclists. Morever there might a large chunk of people who might travel to work at farther places where bicycling might not be an option for them and the only way they can commute is using the normal transportation such as cars and buses. In such cases the construction of a bicycle lane would prove to be futile and might not hold the author's claim. Morever there might be a case where the cyclists might cause much traffic than reducing it which can inturn lead to a large traffic conjestion on the Blue Highway. As the author fails to provide further evidence such as statistics to support his claim, the above argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, due to a paucity of evidence such as surveys and numbers, the author's claim might not be right and the above argument presented by him does not stand firm.