1. "The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers."

The above lines state that the department of agriculture in batavia has reported that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago which is a huge gain for both the consumers and the producers of the dairy products across the county. During this same period, the price of the milk has gradually increased from 1 dollar to over 3 dollars per gallon. The committee had thought that in order to prevent farmers on an increased supply of milk, they should begin to regulate the retail milk prices which might ensure a fair prices for the consumers across the region.

The author's argument at first looks cogent however on further notice the lack of evidence manifests. The first error that the author thinks is that he assumes that the report sent by the department of the agriculture is accurate without flaws which is highly questionable. As the assumption made by the author is not supported by clear evidence such as surveys and statistics it might not turn out to be the way the author suffices thereby completely doubting the author’s claim for regulation of the retail milk’s prices.

And secondly, it is stated in the passage the number of dairy farms have been increased over 25 percentage than it was ten years ago. this very claim is highly skeptical as there has been no proper evidence indicating the amount of milk production currently and prior to 10 years as well. Even though the author’s argument is taken into consideration, the shift in the price of the milk would almost be negligible due to a rampant rise in the production of milk across the county. so due to these very reasons showcasing no proper evidence, the above argument holds no water.

The third point which has to be noted is that the above information which has been provided is just confined to the local region at Excello and it is completely erraneous to be assumed for the entire country of batavia. Before raising the claim, a proper evidence has to be provided advocating the fact that the same condition is persisting across the country in order to incorporate any above measures given in author's argument. In order to warrant the argument, the author has to provide certain important evidence like surveys and statistics which the author failed to do so. The argument without such information falls apart.

In conclusion, as the argument is lacking no proper evidence like surveys and statistics, the government’s call for fair price regulation is flawed.