The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper.

"The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter to the editor, the writer suggests that the government should enforce regulations on the retail milk prices in Batavia as these regulations are necessary for fair prices. To show that these suggestions are reasonable, several questions need to be answered. As, should they prove to be answered, it may critically weaken the final conclusion.

First of all, the writer argues that according to the reports, in last 10 years the total number of dairy farms has increased by 25 percent, these farms are enjoying huge profits overall in the increase in the price of milk per gallon. The main question here is, what does the effect of an increase in a number of dairy farms have to do with the increased cost? The writer provides no compelling evidence that proves any significant relation of spiked prices of milk with the number of dairy farms in Batavia. Also, there is no clear evidence that helps us understand the clear reason for the increase in milk prices. There is a chance that the actual reason for the increase in these prices is due to newly added regulation that the government have included making sure the milk produced is healthy enough for the consumers. And due to this regulation dairy farms need to preprocess this milk which becomes the added cost and eventually leads to the increase in prices.

In the last 10 years, the local population of milk consumers have remained the same, or has increased as well? A possibility is that with the increase in the number of dairy farms the overall number of consumers might have also increased, or there might have been an exponential increase. As with this rise in the number of consumers the demand must have also simultaneously increased and due the lack of supply there was spike in the milk prices. There is no relevant surveys provided by the writer that helps us answer this question here, without which the writer's claims are not persuasive. Also do the dairy farms are actually earning these huge profits? Perhaps, due to the increase in prices the consumers might have stopped purchasing milk products and eventually might have forced the dairy farms to increase the prices due to number of new dairy farms might have increased the competition in the market. As this is the case then it seriously undermines the writers contention.

In conclusion, we see that the writer claims are based on number of assumptions which eventually raises a few questions. Hence more information or evidence is needed to fully evaluate the strength of the claims here. Namely, we would need to know, does the increase in a number of dairies is really relevant to the spike in milk prices, have the numbered of consumers and the demand eventually increased with it and whether the dairy farms are really earning profits, and what is the main reason of that.