The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc., a chain of hobby shops.

"Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The consulting company in a memo to the HobCo, a chain of hobby shops states that according to their research the company should open a new shop in southeastern Grilldon. The memo provides two pieces of evidence to support their conclusion- first that there is no shops in the southeastern Grilldon and that poll rating suggested 88 percent of people would be interested to the shop's opening; second how many people among the retirees would actually be interested to devote their time for hobbies. To show that these arguments are reasonable, several questions need to be answered.

First of all, what fraction of the total amount is the actual 88 percent pole rating suggesting? Perhaps, 8-9 people out 10 represents the total fractions then obviously the HobCo company would not be pleased by the reports. Similarly, the consultation company supports their recommendation base on that since there has been a 300 percent increase in the hobby business in the Gilldon region in past decade. Again, what fraction of shops in the region does 300 perecent represent, there is not enough information provided by the consultant here. It is possible that in 10 years, there has been only a total of 3 shops in the Grilldon region. As if both these cases proves to be true, then the consultant's claim here stands unwarranted and their recommendation is not persuasive.

Secondly, the memo states that here a very large population of retirees in the region of Grilldon which could provide their time to hobbies. But the question here is, in reality what amount of the actual retirees be interested in the hobbies provided by the HobCo company? The pole taken by the consultaion firm, in that 88 percent waht amout of people interested account for these retirees? As, chances are that even though they have ample amount of time the shhop's location maybe a problem or the hobbies provided by the shop would not be any interest to them. Another possibility is, perhaps they would like to spend their time in parks, gardens or church rather than spend their money just to kill time in developing their hobbies. There is not research or information provided by the consultant regarding this. As to answer these questions, a research or analysis report must be provided by the firm to support their recommendation, without which their conclusion doesn't holds water.

In conclusion, we see in the passage the beginnings of a coherent argument, but more information is needed to fully evaluate the strength of the claims. Namely, we would need to know what fraction of 88 and 300 percent represent of the entire people and shops, respectively, and also what number of these retirees would actually be interested.