The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company in a memo recommends that they should allocate a higher budget for the coming year to advertise their movies. The director bases his conclusion on a number of assumptions, which significantly raises few questions, if not substantiated, dramatically weakens the conclusion.

First of all, the director mentions in the memo stating marketing department of the company presented a report in which fewer people attended to watch their produced movies than in any year. But just based on the report's data of the fewest viewers means that their movies doesn't have good content? Or is the company producing a good quality movie and just the advertising of these movies was short? It is possible that the content of these movies was not good that year. And people might have felt the company's movie quality had deteriorated and hence only the initial few days people came to watch the movies and thereafter the news of the movie being that great must have spread amongst the people. Due to which people didn't show up to watch it. Also, is the survey or research done by the marketing department profound enough to actually find the reality of the fewer attendace? Perhaps, the marketing department didn't do their survey in the small cities and the towns where the movies have also been released and insted of that they just did their survey in theb big cities from where they usually get their most viewers. As possibility is that this time it might be other way around that the crowd from the small cities might have liked it much better. If both these questions are not considered by the director, then the claim stands unwarranted and the director's recommendation is not that persuasive.

Further, based on the reviewers' popular verdict the director easily believes that their movie content is actually the same as before, as the postive reviews of their movies have also increased in the past year. And clearly believes that the problem lies with the dearth of awreness within the public. But the director forgot to ask the main question here, was these movies made just for the reviewer? No, of course they must have produced to make the people like it. So why did the director limit itself with review of just these critics? As there is a high chance that the public might have not liked their movies or found that amusing as these critics, which might be because their movies might not be that high qualtiy.

In conclusion, the director's claim here that their movies quality are still good and that the main issue is the lack of advertising of their movie seems to be flawed. Hence to fully evaluate the strength of the claims more information is needed. Namely, we would need to know are the quality of these movies really good? Can the reviewers verdict be assumed as the final verdict from the audience as well? And is the survey from the marketing department reliable enough to base the recommendations upon it.