The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper.

"The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The prompt supports the idea of the author - to maintain a regulate retail price of the milk and make certain regulations in order to inhibit the excessive profits of the customer. Although the author is quite sound in his reasoning, there are certain logical flaws in the premises; underlie the argument. Those assumptions are here to be mentioned followed by sufficient clarifications.

To begin with - the author conjectured that - as there is growth of firms in the country so will be the number in cows, resulting availablity in milk. But has it specially mentioned anywhere in the passage that all the farmers in those firms are actually firming cows or other dairy animals? What if many of they are not interested enough in firming woth cows and they are dealing on hens or other domestic birds? What if many of those customers are not capable of buying new dairy animals or firms but are lending some others'? How can we ignore the possibility of not having sufficient number of dairy animals - needed to gain profits from a standard firm? The answers of these questions are vogue and clearly are out of evidences. If many farmers are not interested in firming with dairy animals because of price hike, then no matter how much firms are built or patronized, farmers will not be able to run those properly, let alone making profits from there.

The author apparently conjectured that - all the farmers have their own firms. He in no times disregards the possibility of an owner, having multiple of firms in his names. If that is the case - then how can a farmer gain excessive profits from those firms, providing that they (farmers) have taken those land in lease. It is niggardly possible that the owner of the firm will allow the farmer to go away with any thing more than his earned. Another perspective of the prompt, that the author is not critical of that - is no there any poissibility that the Local Food Market is profiting excessively in the guise of the increment of the firms? For rexample - if the farmers are providing the retailers with same amount or more amount of milk. But the Food Market is taking advantage of it by increasing the price of the milk and victiming the farmer. They might do this introspectly from the view that - the customers will hardly go for inquiry to the simple farmers and compare the price. Also that milk is kind of everyday and daily routine item for almost every one of us; salubrious enough to compel the people to buy. If the problem relies in the Food bank, then the idea of the author might not hold firmness.

Lastly but not leastly, the author suggestion to formulate certain regulation regarding the retail prices of the farmers might be susceptible to the authenticity of both the farmers and the Food Market officials. Such can be the case that the retail price is within the limit however, the wholesome price is not - as the scenario is previously mentioned. In that case - regulation only for the retail price will not do the work. Even if it is assumed that - enough regulations have been proposed, but what is the possibility that all the farmers will maintain those; providing that they are to blame for the price hike in milk. It might not sound convincing that proper regulations will be maintained althrough the increased firms to curb the retail price under control. Yet it can be possible if supports from the very initial level are gained - of which no evidences have been mentioned in the prompt.

So, looking at the factors and points aforementioned it can safely be concluded that - without answering the asked questions and providing necessary information about the farmers, owenrs and the Food Bank officials, it might be hard to come to any certain conclusion; devoid of enough critical reasoning.