The following appeared in the Health section of the Greenhorne Gazette.

"Motilac is a substance that occurs naturally in the human digestive tract. Many consumers of dietary supplements containing motilac report significant easing of digestive discomfort after just a few weeks of use. Among Greenhorne residents, the consumption of motilac supplements has increased 80% over the last seven years. Last year, Greenhorne’s five hospitals reported fewer cases of serious gastrointestinal disorders than any year on record. Meanwhile, sales of motilac supplements are declining in the neighboring town of Etolin. Notably, hospitals in Etolin report a steady increase in the last two years in patients experiencing a wide range of distressing gastrointestinal symptoms. The clear explanation of these trends is that motilac is effective in preventing many serious gastrointestinal disorders."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The prompt suggests the idea that - motilac, a substance helpful for digestive tract of human, is very effective in preventing many serious gastrointestinal disorders. Although the author provided scant amount of logical reasoning, still large part of it is afflicted with logical flaws. The logical flaws in hthe assumptions of the argument are mentioned here only to be followed by sufficient clarifications.

First of all, the author believes that - the distressing gastrointestinal symptoms of Etolin residents is caused by there less exposure to motilac. But what if that is not necessarily be true? What if the residents, experiencing the distress are pretty indulged in devouring highly acidic food and consumptions even though having sufficient amount of motilac needed in their body to digest foods? One of the big reasons behind htere distressing symptoms could be there dietary habit or their daily food habit. Proper speculation might evident that people in Etolin are more susceptable to digestive distress because of some of their inherent problems in physics which might not be solved by proper use or over use of motilac. Might be the case that - the motilac actually has detoriated the health of the Etolin residents; who had been using the the substance earlier and that is why the consumption of motilac is declining in Etolin. However, neither proper evidence or statistic of previous food consumption of Etolin residents have been provided by the author and that is why the efficiancy of motilac is still debatable.

Second conjectures to consider is that - the author believes that - the easiness in digestive discomfort of Greenhorne residents is attributable to motilac. But what if the residents having digestive discomfort have cultured an exercise to make their stomach better to adapt than before? Might also be the case that the residents of Greenhorne are consuming another medicine or substance much helpful than motilac, nevertheless, without their acknowledgement. And also lack of that medicine might be attributable to the growing digestive problem of the Etolin residents. However, the author has not provided any ensurance of other complimentary food consumptions by residents of both the places and so the reasoning can not be neglected largely, making the argument of the auhtor debatable.

Thirdly, the author believes that - the decline in motilac is party attributable to the distress of the Etolin residents. But what if the opposite is true? It might also be that case that - the residents of Etolin had been used the motilac for long period of time but could not get satisfactory result and so they now tended to denounce it causing the declination of it in the market. It might also be the fact that - motilac is a kind of subsatance that can impart its effect varying from person to person. For one the effect can be soothing but for another it can be more distressing. May be because of the vulnerability of the substance to different inherent factors of human. Might also be the case that, we may not ignore - the level of motilac has been so much in the body of the residents of Etolin that further ingestion are causing them to feel more diseased and that is why they are leavning it; making the claim of the author - that more ingestion of motilac will help to prevent serious gastrointestinal disorder - faulty.

So, looking at all the points and factors aforementioned - it can be safely stated that - more evidences and supplimentary information are required to judge many debatable topics within the prompt and so devoid of answers of the questions asked in the essay - is making the conclusion of the author pretty inconcrete.