The following appeared in the Health section of the Greenhorne Gazette.

"Motilac is a substance that occurs naturally in the human digestive tract. Many consumers of dietary supplements containing motilac report significant easing of digestive discomfort after just a few weeks of use. Among Greenhorne residents, the consumption of motilac supplements has increased 80% over the last seven years. Last year, Greenhorne’s five hospitals reported fewer cases of serious gastrointestinal disorders than any year on record. Meanwhile, sales of motilac supplements are declining in the neighboring town of Etolin. Notably, hospitals in Etolin report a steady increase in the last two years in patients experiencing a wide range of distressing gastrointestinal symptoms. The clear explanation of these trends is that motilac is effective in preventing many serious gastrointestinal disorders."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The health section of the Greenhorne Gazette states that motilac is effective in preventing serious gastrointestinal disorders by summation of Greenhorne residents with neighboring town of Etolin. They state that consumption of motilac supplements has increased 80 % over the last seven years in Greenhorne and concluded fewer reported cases of serious gastrointestinal disorders in five hospitals in last year; whereas, with the decrease in sales of motilac supplements in Etolin has resulted in increase in patients suffering from gastrointestinal symptoms. The argument seems plausible in the very beginning but at close scrutiny, the argument is full of unwarranted assumptions which are stated below.

First of all, the argument refers motilac is a substance that occurs naturally in the human digestive tract but fails to include why it is to be supplied as a dietary supplement although it is generated in the human digestive tract. The argument fails to include at what amount does motilac produce in human digestive tract and what amount does it require to ease digestive discomfort. It is possible that motilac a great misconception which reduces digestive problem when included as dietary supplements. Although, motilac is produced inside human digestive tract; there are various enzymes along with motilac produced by digestive tract which helps in digestion of food. It is specious to assume that consumers which include motilac in their dietary supplements actually reduces dietary problems.

Secondly, the argument states the consumption of motilac has increased 80% over the last seven years. However, it fails to provide any relevant data regarding consumption of motilac has increased 80 % in total or each year. Similarly, the argument co relates the increase in consumption over last seven years with the decrease in patients of gastrointestinal disorders of five hospitals of Greenhorne’s areas. It is likely that the patients of gastro intestinal disorders has increased in all other hospitals except five hospitals which the argument has taken too and argument has failed to include.

Thirdly, the arguer has presented that the people suffering from gastro intestinal disorders decreases only from the last year although the consumption rate of motilac has increased over 80 percent in last seven years. It is prejudiced to assume the effects of motilac has only seen from last year. It is possible that people of Greenhorne has become health consciousness and avoid bulky and fast foods to be safe from intestinal disorder. It is likely that they may have other reasons to consume motilac other than to prevent from disorders.

Moreover, the arguer compares Greenhorne with Etolin and states the decrease in patients with increase in motilac consumption in Greenhorne whereas in Etolin, the patients suffering from gastro intestinal disorder increases with the decrease in motilac consumption. It is foolhardy to compare of two different areas citing a common example. It is possible that the environmental conditions of Greenhorne is cold type and body can digest any food material whereas the temperature of Etolin is high and it is hard for human body to digest food. It is possible that the people of Greenhorne are very conscious with their health conditions and strictly prohibited to assume outside food resulting in decrease in stomach disorder patients. While people of Etolin are unknown about their health status and fond of having street foods full of oily and species which may be the major cause of digestive tract disorder.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is full of unwarranted assumptions. To make argument valid, it should be supported with valid examples and reasoning responding motilac actually helps in mitigating digestive tract infections.