The following appeared in the Health section of the Greenhorne Gazette.

"Motilac is a substance that occurs naturally in the human digestive tract. Many consumers of dietary supplements containing motilac report significant easing of digestive discomfort after just a few weeks of use. Among Greenhorne residents, the consumption of motilac supplements has increased 80% over the last seven years. Last year, Greenhorne's five hospitals reported fewer cases of serious gastrointestinal disorders than any year on record. Meanwhile, sales of motilac supplements are declining in the neighboring town of Etolin. Notably, hospitals in Etolin report a steady increase in the last two years in patients experiencing a wide range of distressing gastrointestinal symptoms. The clear explanation of these trends is that motilac is effective in preventing many serious gastrointestinal disorders."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the above memo, the author argues that motilac is effective in preventing gastrointestinal disorders. The author supports his argument based on the report, which indicates a steady increase in the usage of motilac supplements among the Greenhorne residents and fewer cases of serious gastrointestinal disorders. Furthermore, the author supports his argument by stating that last year after reducing motilac consumption in the nearby town Etolin, the number of cases of gastrointestinal disorder was augmented significantly. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three unstated assumptions need to evaluate.

Firstly, the author argues that motilac will help to reduce gastrointestinal disorders based on the report from the people but the author does not provide any necessitate evidence regarding the authenticity of the people’s reporting. There is a possibility that only 20 people reported that after consuming motilac their gastrointestinal problems were curtailed. Then stating a conclusion on the basis of a reporting of a very small sample size is seriously weakened. If the above scenario is true, then the author's argument holds no water. If the author is able to provide more evidence perhaps in the form of a scientific research study of motilac effect on humans then it will be possible to evaluate the author’s argument to a certain extent.

Secondly, the author states that after consuming motilac fewer people in the Greenhouse suffer from gastrointestinal disorders and five hospitals in Greenhouse reported fewer cases of intestinal disorders without any admissible evidence. There is a possibility that most people do not prefer to go to the hospital if they suffer from gastrointestinal disorders. In a recent study revealed that though motilac helps to reduce gastrointestinal disorders, it has other side effects on the human body. Then, using motilac is not advisable and the author’s argument is seriously weakened. If the author is able to provide more evidence perhaps in the form of a statistical data chart of the patients of Greenhouse hospitals then the author’s argument may have strengthened.

Thirdly, the author relates the increasing number of patients suffering from gastrointestinal disorders in the nearby town Etolin with the reducing number of consuming matilac supplements without any veritable evidence. Maybe the polluted water is the main reason for the increasing number of patients in the nearby town. Perhaps most of the people in the nearby town have a penchant for eating junk food, then one can not incriminate the dwindle of matilac consumption for the proliferation of gastrointestinal disorders in the town. The author must provide more justifiable evidence perhaps in the form of a research study about the cause of the increasing number of patients in the nearby town, to strengthen his argument.

In the conclusion, the author’s argument that stands now is seriously flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can rectify the three unstated assumptions above and offer more evidence perhaps in the form of a systematic research study then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that by consuming motilac supplements people will suffer less from gastrointestinal disorders.