A recent study reported that pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. Specifically, dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. In light of these findings, Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt-a-dog program. The program would encourage dog ownership for patients recovering from heart disease, which should reduce these patients' chance of experiencing continuing heart problems and also reduce their need for ongoing treatment. As a further benefit, the publicity about the program would encourage more people to adopt pets from the shelter. And that will reduce the incidence of heart disease in the general population.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the above memo, the author argues that Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with a nearby dog shelter to institute a dog-adoption program for patients, who suffer from heart deceases. The author supports his argument based on the recent study report, which states that pet owners have longer and healthier lives on average. Furthermore, the author adds that owning a dog will help reduce experiencing continuing heart problems. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three unstated assumptions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author argues that pet owners tend to live a longer and healthier lifestyle without providing any necessitate evidence about the survey. There is a possibility that only 100 people responded to the survey. Then, one can not assume the efficacy of owing a pet based upon the very small sample size. The author does not provide any admissible evidence regarding the authenticity of the survey or how long ago the survey was conducted. If the above scenario is true then, the author’s assumption holds no water. If the author is able to provide more evidence, perhaps in the form of a statistical data chart of the lifestyle of the pet owners, then one can evaluate the author’s assumption to a certain extent.

Secondly, the author assumes that the adopt-a-dog program will encourage recovering patients to own a dog and their chances of heart problems will dwindle. The author does t provide any justifiable evidence to support his assumption that owning a dog will reduce the chance of having further heart problems. Maybe a recent study revealed that leading a healthier lifestyle is more advisable to avoid further heart problems and owning a dog has paltry effect on the patients' health. If this is not the case, then, not everyone can afford to own a dog. Perhaps the cost of the heart treatment is too exorbitant for the additional cost of the pets. If, any one of the above scenarios is true then, the author’s assumption is built unreliably. If the author is able to provide more evidence regarding the efficacy of the adopt-a-dog program, perhaps in the form of a systematic research study, then it will be possible to assess the viability of the author’s assumption.

Thirdly, the author assumes that if patients adopt dogs that will encourage more people to adopt pets from the shelter, which will reduce the incidents of heart disease in the general population. The author does not provide any warranted evidence about people's choices. Maybe most people do not like pets, then, the author's assumption is seriously unwarranted. On the other hand, perhaps a recent beseech report reveals that most people, in general, suffer from more serious heart disease which needs constant monitoring of the patients and cannot be reduced by owning a pet. If the author is able to provide more evidence regarding the choice of the general population and provide more admissible facts regarding the efficacy of owing a pet, otherwise the author's assumption is seriously weakened.

In the conclusion, the author’s argument that stands now is seriously flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to clarify the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study) then, it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that adopting pets from a shelter will reduce the incidence of heart disease in the general population.