The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrolment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enrol at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Answer- In the above memo, the author argues that Buckingham College should extend its number of dormitories to meet the growing housing needs. The author supports his argument based on the premise that Buckingham’s enrolment is continuously growing and it will be doubled over the next 50 years. Furthermore, the author bolsters his argument based on the report that off-campus housing rent is increasing significantly and it will be very cumbersome to find suitable apartments for the students. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three unstated assumptions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author argues that since the number of enrolments is continuously rising the number of students will double over the next 50 years but does not provide any evidence regarding the predictions. Maybe most of the students over the next few years will prefer to live outside the campus. Maybe because of the poor food management most of the students want to live outside the campus. Furthermore, the author does not provide any evidence regarding the continuity of the current trends. Maybe over the next 10 years, the number of students will decline significantly. If any one of the above scenarios is true then the author’s argument holds no water. If the author is able to provide more justifiable evidence regarding a prediction about the future condition of the number of enrolment then it will be possible to evaluate the author’s argument to a certain extent.

Secondly, the author supports his argument of expanding the dormitories based on the premise of the rising cost of apartments without providing any proper evidence. There is a feasibility that most of the students of the university live within a few kilometers of the campus and they prefer to attend college from their homes. Even if this is not the case, maybe average housing rent may not be exorbitant for the students if 3-5 students decide to rent an apartment. Moreover, due to technological advancement, everything is in our hands reach then finding an apartment for rent will not be so exacting. The author has to provide more admissible evidence perhaps in the form of a statistical data chart of the student's residence and rental conditions in the city in order to rectify his claim otherwise, the author’s argument is built unreliably.

Thirdly, the author argues that delectable dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham without any necessitate evidence. Perhaps most of the prospective students will enroll at the college mainly for better curricula. Maybe most of the students prioritize the faculty members when comes to taking admission a the college. If the above scenarios are true then the author’s argument is seriously unwarranted. If the author can provide more evidence perhaps in the form of a systematic reach study about the students’ preferences for enrolling admission at a college then it will strengthen the author’s argument.

In the conclusion, the author's argument stands now is severely flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to elucidate the three unstated assumptions above and provide more evidence (perhaps in a form of a systematic research study) then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories.