Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate

elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students — like people in general — prefer to follow directions

rather than make their own decisions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In the present world, we live in a democratic society in which everyone has their own responsibility to make their society better for the future generation. Education is one of the key components of ensuring a better society. Thus colleges and universities need to be stringent when they decide on the education structure. The above prompt sets out that colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate the optional courses in order to provide lucid guidance for students since students are more likely to follow directions rather than make their own decision. Though I concede that sometimes, people like students have the predilection of following orders instead of making their own decision in my opinion, I mostly disagree with the prompt that colleges and universities should provide guidance by stiffening education policy by restricting elective courses completely.

To begin with, colleges and universities should not eliminate all elective courses since some students might be interested in some elective courses rather than required courses. Let’s take an example, a student may be enrolled in physics but he/she may have a passion for playing piano and wants to be a great piano player in near future like Felix Mendelssohn. Then, he/she can take musical courses as an elective. The above example shows that if colleges and universities eliminate all elective courses then the student will not get any opportunity of being a musician. Thus the student will not flourish under a rigid educational system.

Furthermore, mental satisfaction is a key factor in the life improvement. Too rigid a curriculum may hamper a student’s mental health. For example, a student may not be a prowess learner in a subject and he didn’t feel happy to learn those topics but too stiff course structure force him to attend these courses then his performance will dwindle and he/she may feel congested which may lead to severe depression and it will affect other subjects significantly. This above example illustrates that rigid course structure sometimes affects students adversely rather than imposing their performances. Moreover, if a student feels too much academic pressure and has to learn too many topics which he does not enjoy then it may have a catastrophic impact on other topics which he is good at and enjoys doing them.

However, sometimes rigid course structure may be a better option for a student’s performance. A strict academic regime may pave the path to success for a student. For example, a student may be lazy and not want to go through the hard topics which is a bad sign for a student’s development but a strict academic regime forces him to learn the topic which is crucial for learning the subjects. Moreover, some students may want to select an optional subject in order to avoid the hard topics which are imperative for gaining knowledge. The above examples show that sometimes strict course structure is mandatory for the students by which colleges and universities can ensure that students can gain proper knowledge.

Despite these reasons focusing too much on strict course structure has its merit in that it helps a student navigate the proper way, guides him to reach his goals, etc but the advantages are overshadowed by the possible disadvantages which are more severe in nature. Thus completely eliminating the selective courses is not advisable but maintaining a supple course structure in which some selective courses are assigned to students as per their interest while maintaining the productivity of required courses is preferable.