The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living

now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or

might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

From ancient times human lifestyle has evolved significantly. From the very basic human nature, curiosity about ancient civilizations is an imperative factor of history. In the current world, one of the main intriguing dilemmas is to comprehend the ancient civilizations, their people, and on which ground those peoples’ life played around. Sometimes we set our sublime canon based on the famous people in history. The above prompt sets out that efficacy of the study of history are to dispel the illusion that people from earlier times are different from the people living now. While I concede the fact that people in earlier times have some differences from the people in current times, in my opinion, I mostly agree that people in earlier times are not so much different from the people in ancient times.

To begin with, people’s life in ancient times were not so much different from the present day. People had the same political and phycological dilemmas in their life as present-day people. People’s life was mostly dependent on the society in which they lives. For example, most of the people’s life was played out in a particular political reign. Though in the present day we live in a democratic society, our life mostly depends on political think tanks in one way or another. Like ancient times our life is not free from the psychological dilemma of everyday life. The above example illustrates that though they lived in ancient times their life was not so much different than others. Our lives are still playing out in the same intertwined manner that had played out several hundred years before. Though the form of the political situation is changed in our society the effects on most of the people in the society remain unchanged.

Furthermore, in the present day, people’s life is still going through the same predicaments as the ancient times. Though their form had changed over time their circumstances remain unchanged. People who wanted to transcend in their life faced the same problems as those today. For example, William Shakespeare was an eminent poet of the Victorian era but he had to face deprecatory comments from contemporary people for his unorthodox poems. Many scholars who are now hailed as prominent author was mostly ignored by their contemporary people. One exam is Michale Madhusudan Dutt. He was scorned for his unconventional poetry and largely ignored by his people but he is now lionized by many. Similarly, in today’s world, many people struggle for their dream to rise above everyone where most of them failed and are largely ignored by many. The above examples show that the struggles over the name are still an unchanging quandary over time though their form changes to a certain extent. In today’s world, technological development made it possible to reach more people than before but getting accepted is still a very constant factor for many people.

However, people's life has evolved significantly over time. Technological development and scientific breakthrough made our life more sophisticated and easy. Things that seems impossible several hundred years ago is now an everyday commodity. For example, several hundred years ago people’s life expectancy was significantly less in today's perspective. Through medical innovation, we have concurred many deceases which were untreatable in the previous era. In ancient times malaria is a life-threatening disease that is now curable in the modern world. Furthermore, society is more peaceful than in ancient times. People’s lives in the ancient era were embroiled in war, diseases, etc but in the modern world, people’s life becomes more peaceful other than an occasional spike. The above examples show that society became more sophisticated and aplomb than before. In our modern society, we learn the futility of pandemonium through history and predicted to change our lifestyle through science and technology.

Despite these reasons, the illusion that our society is significantly different than before has its merit but such differences are overshadowed by the similarities which are far more conspicuous in nature. So the study of history profoundly dispels the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.