Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students like people prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

Colleges and universities provide students with a variety of interesting courses. This will raise the question of if colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses. In my opinion, I disagree with the statement.

Indeed, if colleges eliminate elective courses, students can spend more time on their mandatory courses of their fields. For example, when I was an undergraduate, I majored in computer science at National Taiwan University, which was the top-notch university in the entire world. I often had to deal with lots of extremely homework and courses projects of mandatory courses, such as data structure and algorithm. In the meantime, I also had to attend other elective courses to meet my graduation requirements. Thus, I did not have enough time to finish my homework of mandatory courses, and I often just got lower grades on these professional courses, such as B or C+. If I had had more time to copy with these homework, I might have been able to obtain better grades.

However, if colleges eliminate elective courses, students may not be able to understand the knowledge of other fields. For example, when I was an undergraduate. I was really interested in astronomy, and I wanted to learn this kind of professional knowledge from the professors. As a result, I attended a course named "Astronomy with artificial intelligence". The professor would combine the knowledge of computer science with astronomy, and the students of this courses would also had to finish a course project with classmates. In this class, I understood how the scientists utilized artificial intelligence and big data to deal with a good deal of astronomical issues. They could use this information to calculate the future position of asteroids and project that if these asteroids would hit the earth in the future. With this professional knowledge, I could design an artificial intelligence model to predict the lifetime of a star and when would these star become red giants.

Finally, our group got a first prize in the project contest of this courses, and I was recommended to a world-class software company as an intern by the professor of this course. After my graduation, I also received many interview opportunities of many famous enterprises, such as Google and Amazon, because I put this course project on my resume, and these companies would need many engineers being good at artificial intelligence urgently. By contrast, if I had not attended this course, I might have not been able to receive these interview chances from these first rate company.

Furthermore, if the students attend elective courses, they may be able to know other people from different department. For example, when I was an undergraduate, I once attended a class which was offered by the economic department. In this class, I learned lots of professional knowledge of economy from my classmate, and they taught me how to predict the trend of stocks and explained the definition of inflation. Also, we finished a course presentation in this course, and we discussed and exchanged our opinions with each other, and finally I got A in this course. In contrast, if I had not decided to attend this class, I might not been able to know these friends and understand the professional knowledge of economy.

To sum up, I disagree with the statement. Because students can learn many professional knowledge outside their fields, and these students can broaden their vision by learning this knowledge.