The following appeared in an article in the Grandview Beacon.

"For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Given such developments, some city commissioners argue that the symphony can now be fully self-supporting, and they recommend that funding for the symphony be eliminated from next year's budget."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The city commissioners suggests that the symphony can now be fully self-supporting, and they recommend that funding for the symphony be eliminated from next year’s budget. However, several questions need answering to evaluate the claim.

The author states that private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent in last year. However, will these private contributions be provided in the future? These private contributions may not be provided in each year. These private donations may be offered by some private enterprises. if they encountered a serious economic recession in the future, they will not be able to provide the contributions for the symphony again. Furthermore, the company may provide the annual funding for other symphony instead of Grandview Symphony because other symphony can attract more audiences. As a result, we need to know whether the private contributions will be offered stably in the future.

The author claims that the private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent. Yet, what is the exact number of the private contributions? It is likely that the private contributions still account for a small part of the funds of Grandview Symphony. Grandview Symphony may still use the funding from the local government to pay for each fee. Moreover, Grandview Symphony may not be able to receive the same number of private contributions as last year. It may not able get the same number of private contributions in the next year because the private organization can not offer such huge number of funds again. Thus, the author must provide more reliable data about the private contributions.

The author mentions that the number of the attendance at the symphony’s concerts-in-the-park series doubled in last year. However, if the number of the attendance will grow at the same rate in the future? The number of the audiences may not double in the next year because the audiences will tire of the same content performed by Grandview Symphony. We can predict that the number of the audiences will decline in the future. Therefore, the author must explain if the number of the attendance will still double in the next year.

The author points out that the symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. However, will the audiences not come to the concerts again because the ticket prices have risen? The audiences may go to the concerts because of the cheap ticket prices. If the ticket prices are not cheap again, the audiences may not choose to watch the performance of this symphony again. As a result, if the income of the symphony declines in the future because of the less audiences, Grandview Symphony may still need the subsidies from the local government.

The private contributions may help the symphony to grow, but the author needs to answer the above questions to strengthen his or her argument.