The following appeared in an article in the Grandview Beacon.

"For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Given such developments, some city commissioners argue that the symphony can now be fully self-supporting, and they recommend that funding for the symphony be eliminated from next year's budget."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The article describes about the event that was held last year in the city of Grandview known as Grandview Symphony. It was observed that unlike previous years, this year registered rise in funding from private contributers as well as growth in the attendees of the concert. Though, these fact points towards the progress of the concert, before taking the decision regarding funding for future concert, the responsible personal may have to take a keen look to points of focus.

The author from his statements is seen to be assuming that the only reason for rise in attendance of the concert is the private funding that was revised on the following year. This is really a baseless and illogical assumption made by the author. The alternative points that can be held responsible for enhancing the fame of the concert are performance of extremely talented artists, fans of such kinds of concerts, ticket sold in very cheap prices, heavy advertisement of the concert or even attraction the magnificient infrastructure. These alternative possibilities won't allow the author to take any abrupt decisions on considering limited facts.

Further, the author tells us that some city commissioners argues on funding the symphony for next year. From the passage we get to know the reason behind there view can be the self-supportive nature shown by the concert in current year. The article tells us that the private contribution increased by 200 percent and attendance was also doubled, but this does not gives any kind of guarantee that same nature of growth may be observed in future years as well. Also, the articles tells of announcement of increasing ticket price for concert. This fact can not be ignored that announcement and actual application are two different things. Also, no details of increase in ticket price is given in following passage. So, before taking any kind of decision the authorities must take a look at all possible details available.

Moreover, earlier the passage mentions the doubling of the attendance of visitors to the concert. This does give a high-level picture of growth of popularity of concert, but alternative results may also be possible. It may be the case, that even after increased visitors, the organisers were not able to gain expected amount of profit. Also, same growth of may not be shown in future is also a possibility. Thus, before considering this fact as prime factor, it needs to be thoroughly evaluated.

Finally, the only advice before making any kind of decision is to undergo a detailed study of the situation. Based on the performance of only one year, making any kind of decision is nearly foolish approach. Thus, need some attentive approach and study, else sometimes it may have adverse affects on the Grandview Symphony concerts reputation.