To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The society retains an important place in developing human civilizations. With the time, the society had shown a drastic change towards development. Many different factors can be held responsible for majoring the development of a society. I would not be in state of agreeing the above statement as it is generalizing to the vast concept of society by studying a small set of cities that is situation and time specific.

I would like to highlight that the factors that can be labelled as important for society can be en-numerous and varied. Some of the characteristics that can be enlisted are culture, history, geography, education, governing bodies and others. Different regions may have experienced development due to a different subsets of factors among all above. For an instance, Japan is a land of innovation and since, World War 2 they have been very keen towards development of technology to become one of the World's most developed nation. Another example to be considered is South Korea, that is famous for it's media industry and cinematography. Also, China looked towards overall development of nation by prioritizing socialisation as governing principle. As different region may have different factors of importance, so, it is very difficult to list down most important characteristics of a society.

Understanding the society need a vast study of all the above factors as mentioned in above stanza. The statement tells us about considering major chunks of cities for better study. This is another challenge that one may face, to prioritize cities and stick a label of major city to them. Overtime, different cities can be considered as major one's. For an instance, at the rule of Mughals in India, Delhi was made the capital of country and was prime place for all important events. Further, when rulers of Tughlaq's rose, they considered Deogiri as more capable city to tackle all major chores, due to it's indomitable fort structures. Further, since British rule, Bombay came into picture as a economic capital of India. Thus, while considering major cities need to specify more details about it.(need to talk about cities of same era)

The major cities responsible for rise of society can be different in different era. At some point of time, one city that was more fascinated as a major city due to its contribution in terms of certain factor, may be in current era lost its position to another cities. For example, Hiroshima and Nagasaki being in a set of prime city once, after the World War 2, due to an atomic attack lost there position to other cities in terms of development and health. So, it becomes difficult to consider some cities as major and others not, which may change in future.

Thus, based on above reasoning process, we can make a conclusion that current important factors followed in the major cities that are being considered to understand nature of society is not agreeable due to drastic change observed at different period of time.