Workers in the small town of Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in the large city of Masonton, 50 miles away. Moreover, relative to population size, the diagnosis of stress-related illness is proportionally much lower in Leeville than in Masonton. According to the Leeville Chamber of Commerce, these facts can be attributed to the health benefits of the relatively relaxed pace of life in Leeville.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author in the passage is showing the comparison between the Leeville and Masonton cities. The author is willing to convey the message that relaxed lifestyle in Leeville being a small town is reason for the health benefits. Though the author adopts effective explanation methodology to prove his points, but due to lack of specific evidences and not considering alternative possibilities the statement seems to be unacceptable.

Initially, the author start with statement correlating the health of the population to workers taking less sick days. There can be certain possible alternative explanations as given further. It can be the case that it population in small town tolerate sickness and most probably avoid to visit doctors, thus they prefer taking less sick days. Also, the large city people may be bluffing their bosses in the name of sickness to take leave. Another case can be that the most of the population in small town can be non-worker population, thus, would not expect any sick leave. Due to lack of any kind of statistics in this matter, we cannot make any concrete statement.

Further, the author tells about less population size diagnosed of stress-related illness in Leeville, thus, are more healthy as compared to Masonton people. This statement can be disproved by adding other alternative explanations. The basic one can be the size of population in Leeville is already less than Masonton, thus, by relation have less stress-related ill ones. Also, the unhealthy population may also include patients with physical disorder, mental or emotional problems and not only stress-related problems. As these statistics are missing in given information, thus, cannot comment on the health of population. So, the author is expected to collect and provide with more information to prove his statements.

Moreover, the author concludes with a reef statement that more health benefits are attributed to more relaxed pace of life. Though this can be considered a possible health enhancer, but other possible practices also exists. Some other practices can be regular exercise, meditation, yoga, balanced diet. It is also possible that due to natural soothing milieu, the people are experiencing healthier living. Another thing can be the unhealthy population in Leeville have migrated to some other city or even in Masonton by adding and advantage of containing only healthy population. Thus, the author is not at a position to make any conclusion based on the evidence provided.

Finally, the only suggestion to the author is to carry out a thorough survey of above situation that include all possible alternatives. At that time when the author comes up with some evidential results, those can be excepted.