The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve overall productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the above recommendation made by the personnel director, he mentions the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course. The author tells about the improvement other companies are experiencing after enrolling their employees for the course. The author tries to convince by giving certain examples and propose the president of Acme Publishing Company enroll all its employees for this course. Though the author has used an effective way of giving real-life examples to prove his point, tons of assumptions and questionable statements make his argument weak.

Firstly, the author tells that many companies took the course and have been experiencing a great improvement in productivity. There are many possible questionnaires that can be raised on this statement. The details of the survey that the author is deciding to conclude that many companies took courses are not mentioned. The company type is not mentioned which may make it possible, for the company not to be a publishing company. Further, they also have not given any statistics about employees who took the course and got benefited. Thus, due to en-numerous questions arising we cannot directly accept the author's argument.

While trying to prove the above statement the author adopts the technique of providing examples. First, he tells about a graduate who was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours. Though this is a very good skill to acquire, many questions can arise on the same one. The author is making an unjustified assumption that productivity increases when an employee can read more pages in less time. But there can be many questions that can be asked. Whether the reader read consciously? Is he capable of reading any kind of material or only of a specific domain? Is the company really benefited by more reading? Is there only reading the factor that is responsible for the growth in productivity of company? Before answering these questions it is impossible to accept the claim of the author.

In addition to the above example, the author tells us about a graduate who rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Though this is really impressive growth for an individual, relating it to taking courses is inappropriate. The most important thing we are likely to ask is the improvement of the individual is only due to enrolling in the course? There is no other factor responsible for his growth such as education, skills, hard work, eligibility, or requirement of the company? Also, whether the employee ever used the skills acquired from the course in the work? This really changes one mind to accept the author's statement based on the given example.

Finally, the only advice the author must be given is to get more detailed statistics about the beneficiaries of the course and the course structure itself to convince others. Can also adopt other more effective methodologies other than giving examples.