The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given memorandum, the business manager predicts that due to reducing the time to weather and local news, the number of viewers and the revenue from advertising companies had been affected. Further, the author inadequately concludes that with restoring the time devoted to weather and local news, both the above factors can be re-acquired. Though the flow of the statement seems to be adequate, it is flooded with assumptions and loopholes, thus, cannot be accepted as it is.

In his statement, the manager tells that they had been receiving many complaints regarding the station's coverage of weather and local news from the viewers. While describing this fact the author fails to provide the details about the complaints. There is a possibility that the complaint is regarding things other than reduced time such as incorrect content, the accuracy of news, details not provided, lacking the effectiveness of news, and many more. Also, the author does not mention specific details of the show, thus, the show may be other than a late-night show. Therefore, without all such details, we cannot jump to a direct conclusion as done by the author.

Additionally, the author brings into the limelight the cancellation of contracts by advertising companies at the time of late-night news programs. Though time can be considered as one possibility, other alternative explanations also exist. It can be the case, that product survey revealed to show advertising at some different timing. Also, it may happen that the production company is facing a certain financial crisis or has stopped manufacturing the product, thus advertisement is not required now. We can also question that before reducing time do advertising companies always prefer the time? Due to such numerous questions arising the claim cannot be accepted directly.

Finally, while concluding the author vaguely predicts that with restoring the time devoted to weather and local news, the profit can be re-acquired. This is the really bad logical prediction made by the author. Without taking into account, the other possible factors just based on a single factor he is suggesting to make such a vital decision. So, it is not acceptable in the current scenario.

Thus, in the end, I would suggest to the author that without considering all possible factors should not give any piece of advice to the television station.