Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument given, author tells us about Arctic deer of Canadian islands. He tells that they have pattern of migration from one region to another in cold days and the frozen sea help them in migration. Further, tells us that due to global warming the sea ice is melting and just deer are not able to migrate this has lead to there decline. This does not seems to be proper reasoning given as it contains en numerous assumptions and loop holes.

Firstly, author tells us about report given by local hunter about decline of deer and clearly stated reason as global warming for declination. Here author assumes report is reliable. It is not stated about sample population on which survey has been conducted, survey dates are missing, area in which survey is conducted is not specified and many more questions arise. There may be some other reason of decline of deer which author may have missed out, such as local hunter may have been responsible for this decline and are blaming global warming to hide there mischievous. Thus, with lack of details we can not accept the report as an evidence.

Furthermore, author telling about migration pattern of deer assumes that all deer migrate to some other area in cold days. There may be a case that some islands may sustain food throughout the year, thus, deer may not necessary migrate to any other reason. Not only this but also there is possibility that deer are aware of danger in the migration areas, so, to be safe they have stopped migration. Thus, en numerous possibilities may give rise to doubts in given statement.

While concluding author tells us that global warming lead to stop migration pattern of deers, which has resulted in declination of deer. This is really very vague conclusion to accept as author is considering only a small set of reasoning behind declination. The declination of deers may be resultant of increasing cold in the particular area, unavailability of water, changes in climate in the particular regions, attack of local hunters, permanant migration to some other regions and many more. This makes us aware about authors optimal thinking about reasons have lead to wrong statement to conclude.

At last, author's statment about pattern of migration from one region to another in cold days and the frozen sea help them in migration and due to global warming the sea ice is melting and just deers are not able to migrate this has lead to there decline is really inadequate to accept. To make it a strong argument author must provide more evidence to prove his conclusion.