Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

In the prompt, it is stated that the decline in deer population is due to deers' being unable to cross the frozen sea and follow their familiar migration routes. The prompt has come to this conclusion based on the fact that the decline in deer population parallels that of melting sea ice, a situation aggravated by global warming. However, before this conclusion can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

Firstly, is there any evidence that the deer population did not suffer a hit due to increased human activity? For example, an increased human activity in the area surrounding the migration paths of the deer population can significantly restrict the deers' mobility and this would imply that the deers would have to look for their sustenance in a restricted area. This would substantially increase the competition as the deer population would scramble to get on their hands on a limited, low food supply and subsequently due to shortage of foods, the population would decline. If this scenario has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the prompt is significantly weakened.

Secondly, does the author present any evidence to disregard a disease outbreak in the deer population as a possibility for their decline? It might also be the case that the deer population experienced a novel disease outbreak and this severely restricted their ability to graze over a large area of land. This immobility would render the affected deers incapable of finding food on their own. Therefore, it could be scenario that, the deer population finds an alternate route to their usual migration path, but marred with the disease, their population started to decline. If the above scenaior is true, then the argument in the prompt does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is significantly flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. It is possible that there are other factors at play that can significantly reduce the deer population. If the author of the prompt is able to answer the two aforementioned questions and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the conclusion drawn in the prompt that sea ice melting is the sole reason for the decline in deer population.