Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free

The prompt suggests that formal education is deleterious for our mental and intellecutal development. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this notion and argue that formal education has a tendency to limit our growth.

To begin, formal education tries to generalize people rather than taking their individuality into action. Everyone is different. It is statistically highly improbable that formal education can cater to every single person, and this has the unintended consequence of limting a person's growth. The course contents and the tests are designed in such a way that a significant number of people might find these hard to navigate and have a hard time to find their true calling. For example, a student might be good at music, dance or arts. In my places, these subjects are considered niche and a greater value is placed on other "demanding" subjects such as mathematics or economics. Due to prevailing social bias towards these "demanding" subjects, a student wishing to pursue their subject choice of interest, will find it difficult to do so. This illustrates how formal education tends to restrain our growth.

Furthermore, formal education tends to be not conducive to our imagination. Many great scientist, both in our time and those who came before us, placed utmost importance on imagination. For example, the greatest scientist of our time, Albert Einstein, considered imagination to be a critical component for several of his key discoveries. Formal education, with its standardized tests, doesn't test the students for their novel thinking. The tests are a tool to evaluate how well the students have prepared on the classroom materials, not how well their thought processes have improved. In this manner, formal educations tends to deemphasize our intellectual growth.

In conclusion, formal education is a nifty tool to evaluate students of knowledge. But due to its nature and the aforementioned reasons, it doesn't bode well for our minds and spirits and ends up circumscribing our growth where its true objective should have been to set them free.