The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

The prompt suggests that the primary benefit that one receive as a result of studying history is to cast off any confusion regarding the notion that the people from the earlier generations are no more different than the contemporary people. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this perception and argue that history teaches us that we are closer to the people that have preceded us more than we think we are.

To begin, a student of history, someone who is keen and able to connect the dots, will eventually notice from studying history that the events in our present soceity is similar in nature with the past events. We have vast historical records of the major past events and a careful study of these events reveal the striking similary of them with the present ones. For example, the stock market crash of 2008, although impacted the stock market in a way that no other crash had done before, was not the first of its kind. It had a marked similarity with the great depression of the 1930s. The events leading up to the stock market crash of 2008 was no different than the events that was responsible for the great depression. One can assume that, after such a worldwide devastating impact, the world would never have to see another major financial depression. Although circumstances changed, peoples' nature did not and this is overtly visible from the study of history. Humans have an inclination to recognize patterns and history enables us to utilize this tendency to see the bigger picture: the past and the present are intertwined.

Secondly, history divulge that not only the major historical events in politics, economy or society have repeated over time but also the quotidian aspects of peoples' lives in the present can have its roots traced back to earlier times. With the invention of writing began the journey of history, and for the first time it allowed human beings to pass on knowledge earned over their lifetime to their offsprings. This, coupled with the fact that writing enabled the preservation of knowledge over a long period of time compared to that of oral transfer, meant a person could verifiably study the history and discover the similarities between the past socieites and the present socieities. The institutions that govern our daily lives, the culuture that we are a part of and the societal rules that bind us together can be found in earlier generations too, although in a miniature form. For example, anthropoligcal studies have unfolded that earlier societies had more or less the same norms as we do, with a bit of quirk of their own. Nowadays we have sophisticated genres of painting, but painting can also be traced back to thousands of years, as the discovery of a painting in a spanish cave where the humans are hunting bisons have shown. We also have had rich literature in various different languages for thousands of years. This shows that the similarity people possess transcend the passage of time.

Although the claim that human societies have evolved and diverged over time has some truth in it, the foundations have remained largely intact. Starting from the industrial revolution, our societies have changed significantly and current technological innovations have only accelerated the pace. People are now opening up to topics that were taboo in the past. Change is a constant to be found in human nature. The changes that we are responsible for will also become part of the history one day, and the future generations who will find their footing on those changes, will look back and realize that they can relate to us through history.