Claim: Group assignments that students must work together to complete should replace a substantial amount of traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university courses.

Reason: It is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers to study a topic and to achieve a common goal.

The claim suggests that a majority portion of the traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university courses should be substituted by group assignments. In my opnion, I mostly concur with this notion for the stated reason, along with an additional one, but I do concede that it doesn't prove true in all cases.

The given reason states that group assignment is necessary for students to acquire experience through collaboration with their peers. The knowledge imparted in the classrooms becomes instilled in the minds of the students much better when they actively participate in group assignments rather than just passively listen to the lectures. Research has shown that humans learn much better when they try to explain the subject matter at hand to others as one has to go through the subject matter in depth before elucidating it for others. Group assignments require students to take responsibility, to be hold as responsible for their actions, set a common objective to reach within a specified time and not only be dependent on one's own actions, but also on othe actions of other group memebrs as well. This exposes the students to a rich experience, and they learn to appreciate the benefits of team work which in turn prepares them to take on challenging pursuits in the future. Therefore, for the stated reason, it is imperative that student participation in the group assignments should be more focused than traditional lectures.

Furthermore, in the real world, nobbody works in isloation and everyone depends on some other in some way. When the students graduate from colleges or universities, they have a hard time adjusting to the work environment because most of their time spent on the colleges or universities was focused on how well they perform individually. But in their workplaces, they find that they have to collaborate with other people and be dependent on them as part of their work. The nature of the works has shifted substantially in recent times, and sometimes it requires multidisciplinary collaboration. For example, in the field of biotechnology, scientific computation using supercomputers has become a well-known tool and it is being used to do some heavy lifting regarding complex scientific problems. But this requires collaboration between biologists and computer scientists to set problem definitions and come up with probable solutions, as neither knows each others field very well. A student whose college or university courses were focused primarily on lectures will have a hard time compared to someone who was primarily engaged in group assignments. This illustrates the importance of group assignments as stated in the claim.

In conclusion, traditional lecture-based instrctions have been around for a long time and it cannot be replaced altogether. But for the aforementioned reasons, replacing a majority of it with group assignments will be far more benefical for the students and the experience gained in the process will be tremendously helpful for their individual and collective growth.