Teachers’ salaries should be based on their students’ academic performance.

The collaboration between the teacher and the students plays an important role in bringing out the best from both parties. Not just in a classroom, but also elsewhere in our daily lives, we notice that a mentor-mentee relationship is one of the most crucial elements for an individual to grow. The prompt recommends that academic performance of the students should be the sole decider of teachers' salaries. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this notion and argue that teachers' salaries should not be tied to the academic performance of the students for three reasons.

To begin, A teacher who is overly focused on their students' academic performance will often fail to engage their students and capture their attention over the long run. The role of a teacher is not to increase the academic performance of the students, but to mould young minds to impart meaningful knowledge in a way that ignites the students' curiosity and helps the students to engage in their education in an enthusiastic way. Moreover, if academic performance is the sole concern of the teacher, students will also be solely concerned with performance on the test, overlooking the fundamentals and missing the opportunity to inculcate the fundamentals within them. The lessons learnt will be temporary and regurgitated at the exam hall, only to be forgotten afterwards.

Secondly, It is not guaranteed that despite the best efforts of the teacher, the students will be able to perform at the levels expected from them. Students' performance in class academics and at the tests depends on a multitude of factors such as their background, their inclination towards the topic being teached and their efforts towards academic tasks For example, studies have shown the, in USA, students in white neighborhoods perform better than their counterparts in black neighborhoods because historically, the blacks have been deprived of privileges that otherwise would be enjoyed. As a result, the blacks students have a starkly disparate upbringing and social surroundings that their white counterparts. Same can be argued for teachers as well. In addition, the situation is dire for a young and inexperienced teacher compared to an old and experienced teacher. A considerable amount of time has to be given to a new teacher for him/her to be accustomed to teaching his/her students in the class.

Thirdly, each student is different, and one cannot expect the same outcome from each of them given the input from the teacher is the same. A narrow focus on education, based solely on academic performance, will act as an impediment to a student's potential growth as an individual.

Some may argue that teachers focusing on their students' academics will incentivize both the teacher and the students to work hard. However, this is a temporary solution at best and cannot be generalized to everyone. The overarching principle of education is not that students achieve their best grades at the exams and be done with it, but rather education should act as a platform that the students can utilize to find their calling with the help of their teachers.