According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions

In the given para, author talks about the rise in cheating cases among college and university students and further also suggest a solution picked by Groveton College. He says they have introduced some kind of honor code and it is responsible for reduction in cheating at there college. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor code. Though this sounds convincing after listening authors explanation a keen observation will help us to find multiple loop holes and assumptions made by author which lead to multiple questionable arguments.

Firstly, author says adopting honor code is only reason for reduction in student cheating. This is some kind of abruptly made assumption. There may be a case that student studying in college are genuinely convinced that cheating may not help in gaining any kind of knowledge. Also we can not reject the possibility that some student still try to cheat, but are not caught by teachers. Thus, we can say there may be many other reasons for reduction of cheating rather than honor code adoption.

Furthermore, author while proving his statement tells us that the teachers are closely monitoring students and have reported average of thirty cases of cheating per year. While making this statement author has not given any justification that teacher are always monitoring properly. For example there may be a case that teacher may go for some kind of tea break or busy in other activities such as paper checking and some student took advantage of such situation to cheat. Also author has not specified any exact statistics for cheating cases. It is possible that some year cheating cases reported may be 60 and another year may be 0, which further averages to 30 per year. Thus, due to multiple questions arising we can not directly except authors justification.

While concluding, author makes a suggestion that to reduce cheating cases throughout all colleges and universities should adopt honor code. This is really vague assumption that all colleges and universities will observe similar behavior in cheating statistics after adopting honor code methodology. For example, some college have a group of students who are not at all interested in learning things and frequently speak lie. Thus, surpassing this honor code is not a big deal to them. Thus, such a generalization from observation at Groveton College to all colleges and universities is not acceptable.

Finally, we would say that author assumptions have made his statement of adoption weak enough to be accepted. Thus to make it a stronger author must provide with more genuine and strong evidences.