The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The letter from owner to manager of Sunnyside Towers apartment complex narrates about its new modification scheme on showerheads carried out to restrict usage of water flow to one-third of what it used to be. The owner furthers tells about not receiving any complaint or feedback regarding this change, thus, applying this scheme on large scale seems to be feasible and may attract more profit in future. Though the owner is sighting this as an opportunity to raise profit, on contrast, it may also lead to huge losses due to unacceptable assumptions and reef predictions made by the author.

Along with the first few sentences, we can see the owner telling about how modification of showerheads can restrict maximum water flow to one-third of its current usage. Assuming that the saving of water is whole-and-sole dependent on showers of the buildings is really a vague consideration. Some alternative usage of water in buildings can be as follows - provision of drinking water, water available to maintain plantation around the towers, the water being used for some new construction purpose. It is also possible that other than shower the residents use the water for household purpose. Also, restricting water usage is totally dependent on period of usage. Thus, before clarification with respect to all such perspectives one cannot make any kind of conclusion.

Further, the author tells about very few number of complaints received, thus, that concludes into no problems faced regarding showers. This is really vague assumption of ignoring the possible scenario and making statement for acceptance of the modification. This can be possible that the people still are tolerating such behaviour of the authority and in future may complaint about this. Also, even it is possible that significant number of complaints are being misplaced. The author does not provides us with statistics regarding complaints to make any precise conclusion based on it, thus, making any firm statement based on letter does not seems to be possible at this stage.

Moreover, while concluding the letter the owner makes a reef predictions of more modification of showerheads, may grab more profit. Earlier the author mentions about the unavailability of readings of water usage before and after adjustments. Thus, the author is not in position to say whether the modification has enhanced the profit or given rise to losses. Also, an alternative suggestion for increasing profit is the author may consider saving electricity, efficient usage of fuel, using reversible sources of energy and many more rather than this. So, the author must think before making any illogical predictions.

Finally, we would conclude our arguments by suggesting the author to have a concise look into pros and cons of modification of the showerheads and based on thorough analysis, must make any kind of decision for futher modification.