The vice president for human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet inappropriately from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. Installing software on company computers to detect employees' Internet use is the best way to prevent employees from wasting time on the job. It will foster a better work ethic at Climpson and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The main idea behind given para is to describe the plans of Climpson Industries to tackle the issue of unproductivity of employees. The author tells that to reduce the inappropriate use of internet by employee they must install electronic monitoring of employees internet. This will establish better work ethic and improve the profit of Climpson Industries. Though, the author was able to make a fine statement, it contains en-numerous assumptions and also alternative possibilities of the situations.

The author tells that in order to improve employees productivity, the Climpson Industries are thinking of using electronic monitoring of employees Internet. But, whether the only best way to increase productivity is as mentioned by the author? One alternative possible way can be arranging seminars and conferences of industrial as well as academic experts. Inviting the expert talks as well as encouraging them to mentor and share there knowledge with fledglings and also know their insight. The periodical recreational activities helps as well by acting as a stress buster and enhancing bonding between employees. Thus, expecting productivity by limited thought process may not be acceptable.

Further, the author tells about plan to keep a survillance on their employees and thus, increase in productivity. One fact is that if an idea has its positive points, it carries certain kind of demerits as well. It can be the case, that due to such monitoring the employee lag the focus on work and experience pressure and may result in even less productivity. The skilled employees will not be able to do things in there own way. For an instance, Japan based on survey have introduced a program in which employee are encouraged to work for 4 days per week by giving priority to work-life balance. This has resulted in huge increament in productivity of firms. Thus, considering only small set of actions may not be admirable.

Moreover, the author beleives implementing such monitoring program may establish work ethics among employees and raise the profit. This is really vague prediction by the author. There may be different ways to increase profit and it is much better suggestion to focus on those. Some of them can be new projects, collaborations with academic institutes, arranging the hackathons and talks and investing in new start-up. There is also possibility that, due to implementation of such program, the employee may leave the company and that may definitely result in decrease productivity. Thus, the author must give a keen look to the statements he made.

Finally, the only advice the author must follow is to consider different possibilities and have a more detailed study of the implementation of electronic monitoring program, which will help him to support his claims infront of the Climpson Industries and make a better decision in order to enhance productivity.