The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In given argument, the author put forth his conclusion of not building new electricity generating plant based on his explaination for declining electricity demand. While explaining his assumption his tells about some surveys taken place and plans made by certain home appliances manufacturers. While going through these arguments we get to know about loop holes and assumptions made by author to prove his conclusion correct.

While concluding author states direct relation between purchase of new electricity saving appliances and electricity demand. Purchasing more energy efficient appliances doesn't implies the less usage of energy. May be due to huge purchase of appliances each use will cost high usage of energy. May be high usage of appliances by certain mass users such as in industries, hospitals, commercial complexes, etc electricity requirement will enhance. Based on these evidences we can say that there can't be direct relation between purchase of new electricity saving appliances and electricity demand.

Furthermore, author vaguely compares the efficiency of new appliances to old ones. While stating it he says, "new appliances are almost twice as energy efficient as old ones". What does almost implies? Does all new appliances are more efficient than old ones? There may be a case that old appliance doesn't give much performance but may last for long time. Author has not mentioned efficiency is considered in what respect. This creates an ambiguity in statement regarding comparison of appliances.

Moreover, It is stated that manufacturers of appliances are marketing them recently. Marketing doesn't gives guarantee of sale. May be customers have already purchased similar kind of items from other vendors. These kind of appliances usually cost more than simple ones, thus, many of customer may not prefer to purchase them. This is the reason why marketing statement doesn't seems up to the mark.

From above discussion we can conclude that, not building new electricity generating plant may lead to certain disastrous effects due to rise in demand in future. Thus author may make more thorough study and add more evidences to reduce the assumptions made.