The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The author concludes that the existing electric generation plants are sufficient to meet the demands of energy in the area, and, thus there is likely no need to construct an additional plant. The author bases this claim on the observations from recent surveys. The author has to provide more proof against the three unfounded assumptions stated below before we can evaluate the viability of this argument.

Firstly, the author assumes that the total energy consumed by the new appliances in a house will not rise significantly in comparison to previous decade. There can be multiple reasons which can escalate the energy usage. It is possible that though the new appliances are twice as energy efficient as compare to old one's, the total energy consume in a house have risen, because the number of appliances present in the house have multiplied over the last decade. Even if, the number of household appliance have remained constant, their consumption have risen significantly. It is also feasible that the appliances are falsely marketed as more energy efficient to appease the consumer. If either of the above possibilities holds true then author's contention fail to hold water.

Secondly, the author assumes that the residents will readily install the new home insulation and passive solar heating technologies. Perhaps, the people are refrained from benefitting from these technologies due to their high cost and limited availability. It is also probable that houses cannot rely on solar energy due to the restricted sunlight available to them. Either of the above case, is likely to hinder the credibility of the author's assumption.

Lastly, the author assumes that the demand for energy in their area will not surge and is likely to decline slightly. Maybe, the newly constructed manufacturing plants which are yet to start their operations, requires a significant amount of energy in coming months. It is also possible that the newly constructed societies will be ready for people to move in. Either of the above cases is likely to hinder the credibility of the author's assumption.

In conclusion, the planning might be right that there is no need to construct a new generating plant. However, as it stands now the conclusion stands on three assumptions that hinder its validity. The author needs to provide evidence for above mentioned assumptions to increase the persuasiveness of their argument