The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy At the same time manufacturers are now marketing many home applianc

In order to strengthen the argument presented in the memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company, it would be necessary to provide more evidence and analysis to support the assumptions on which the argument is based.

First, the argument assumes that efforts by homeowners to conserve energy will be successful and result in a significant reduction in electricity usage. To support this assumption, the memorandum could provide evidence on the effectiveness of conservation programs and incentives in the area, as well as data on the adoption of energy-efficient technologies by homeowners. The memorandum could also consider potential barriers to conservation, such as the cost and availability of energy-efficient technologies, and assess the impact of these barriers on the success of conservation efforts.

Second, the argument assumes that the availability of more energy-efficient appliances and home heating technologies will lead to a decrease in the demand for electricity. To support this assumption, the memorandum could provide data on the energy savings achieved by these technologies, as well as information on their cost and availability. The memorandum could also consider the potential impact of other factors, such as population growth and economic development, on the demand for electricity and assess how these factors may affect the effectiveness of energy-efficient technologies in reducing energy consumption.

In addition to providing evidence and analysis to support its assumptions, the memorandum could also consider potential counterarguments to its conclusion that new electric generating plants will not be necessary. For example, the memorandum could consider the potential impact of unexpected events, such as natural disasters or power outages, on the demand for electricity and assess whether new generating plants would be necessary to meet increased demand in such situations. The memorandum could also consider the potential long-term consequences of not constructing new generating plants, such as the need to import electricity from other sources or the potential cost of constructing new plants in the future.

Overall, to strengthen the argument presented in the memorandum, it would be necessary to provide more evidence and analysis to support its assumptions, as well as consider potential counterarguments and long-term consequences of its conclusion. By doing so, the memorandum could provide a more comprehensive and compelling case for its conclusion that new electric generating plants will not be necessary