Some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom. Others believe that such competition seriously limits the quality of real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Education is the backbone of our society and with the help of which a person can achieve great accomplishments. However, there is a tremendous competition among the students to aquire education from the best universities, all across the globe in hopes of having a stable career. This competition is much more severe in highly populated countries like the USA, China, India, etc. The prompt present two sides. First, the prompt suggests that many people believe that this competion is fruitful in a way that it motivates students to excel in classroom. While secondly, it also present the view the many other people believes that this competion infact limits the quality of real learning. Well, I mostly agree with the latter position for two main reasons, that I will elucidate below. However, I do concede that there is need for a healthy competition to prevent student from getting complacent.

To begin, the main motive behind acquiring education is to implement what you have learned. However, the quality of learning is significantly degraded when students just focus on getting good grades in classroom. Due to high competition practical knowledge is taken for granted and student's knowledge is limited to textbooks. Many students don't pay attention to the fundamentals of a subject and are just invested in learning in a question answer format. But in real life such knowledge is superficial and in any applications one needs to understand the fundamentals of a field. Like for example, knowning that car runs on diesel/petrol isn't enough of mechanic. Hence, it is fair to conclude that high competition have a bad effect on the method to aquire knowledge.

Secondly, high competition have ample of deleterious effects on students mental and physical health. Parents enroll students in extra classes at an earlier age in the hopes that students will have an advantage when preparing for colleges and unversities entrance exams. Due to this, the students are deprived of time to spend on any physical activities. This high competition also leads to stress build up in students at a very young age. Student's enthusiam is severely degrade and this is reflected in rest of their career. Hence, I believe that this excessive competition have a lot of damaging effects on students.

Lastly, however I do believe that a healthy competition in any classroom can motivate students to present the best of their abilities. At any the point of life, a person have to deal with competion. So I believe it is better if students get a taste of it earlier in their life. However, this competition needs to be kept in check. This can be done with consistent councelling throughout their educational years. This can help students to learn with the best for their abilities and perform with consistency.

In conclusion, it is fair to say that unregulated competition can severely affect the quality of real learning. However, this competition can be turned to students advantage if it is controlled.