Some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom. Others believe that such competition seriously limits the quality of real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Everyone wants their children or loved ones to get the best education possible. Nowadays, there’s a lot of competition starting from rudimentary schooling such as pre-k. Many believe that these challenges bring the best out of students. However, while a reasonable person might think this is true, this might not always be correct for the following reasons.

To begin with, competition has always been viewed as positive thing. This brings out the best out of everyone pushing the status quo higher. For instance, this can be witnessed in the sports arena where records are being broken year after year; 50 years ago, many could not fathom a boxer conquering eight different weight divisions like Manny Pacquiao has done in the last decade. In the same manner, competition in grade schools have push students to achieve the unthinkable in previous generations. For example, many high school students are now graduation with a dual degree, a college associate degree and high school diploma. This was accomplished by creating competition among the most erudite of students. This also prepares them for the reality of didactic years in higher education like graduate or professional school. Ultimately, competition yields better students prepared to tackle world problems that help a nation maintain its status as a world leader.

On the other hand, competition can be deleterious if pushed to the extreme. For example, we have witnessed a major college scandal in the United States, where many high school students were cheating on their SATs in order to land a seat in a prestige university where competition is an at all time high. By this way students are more concerned with grades than they are with the quality of learning material. This hinders their ability to succeed during their university years. Standardize testing has also been a polemic issue, many students get a paroxysm of anxiety due to the immense weight of competition. Again, in this sense competition is a counterproductive mechanism.

All in all, there must be an equilibrium between detrimental competition and healthy competition. If competition is weighed in too heavily some students might cheat, causing long term damage to their learning. To assuage the situation competition among young students, must be re-evaluated. For these reasons, I align more closely to the view that competition seriously limits the quality of real learning.