Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author makes a bold claim to which he or she believes that any piece of information must be impugned due to the assumption that this truth may turn out to be inaccurate. However, the reasoning used to bolster this claim is subjective. I mostly disagree with opinion of this author.

To begin with, in some cases or fields it might be a sagacious choice to mistrust facts. It is imperative to make our own assumptions, especially, on things that seem arcane to our views. With this in mind a deeper understanding and appreciation is born. For example, Albert Einstein proposed in the early 1900’s that the theory of general relativity applied to the fabric of space and time as well to the microscopic world, but after various scientists not accepting this fact quantum mechanics was born. This nascent field has become conducive in helping humanity through nuclear medicine and energy. In this scenario we can see the advantage of repudiating select facts.

However, while a reasonable person might agree that keeping an open mind and refuting stated facts by others is a sedulous effort, actually this might not always be the right approach. For one thing, to author claims that much of the facts turn out to be false, this is a little extreme. If most things were not true, we would see no progress in many fields. For instance, recently there has been a large consensus that the planet earth is not a sphere but rather flat. In these cases the stated fact that has been ironclad by astronomy experts is being ignored. The have irrefutable data that makes this an universal truth. We can see the detrimental effects of questioning such facts has on our community. No progress would be made if we were to flat out mistrust all facts.

Furthermore, factual evidence that is irrefutable by replicating identical results can be considered an undeniable fact. So, the claim that most truths are mostly inaccurate is a fallacy. Sure, old facts can change through time thanks to the advancement of new applications such as technology or mathematics. Therefore, new discoveries are made, but the fundamental verity is still the pillar that holds this new certainty. For instance, Mendelian genetics was very rudimentary but through experiments with pea plants this was an unassailable fact that genes played a role in phenotypes. However, with the advancement of molecular genetics we learned new discoveries that added a cogent understand of the principles of DNA replication to the translation of mRNA molecules to proteins. This new finding does not make Mendel’s facts false but rather explains the unknown mechanics of an esoteric subject that lacked modern methods.

Conclusively, while it is wise to keep an open mind and challenge some facts that are circulating, this is not always the right approach to veracious claims that can be backed by irrefutable evidence. It is more important to know what claims to challenge and which to accept with confidence with the backing of experts in that field.