The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The anthropologist Dr. Karp’s written article at first glance may seem plausible. However, as one examines closely the stated assumptions made by the author; it become obvious that this argument is rife with holes and inaccuracies. Dr Karp does not make a cogent case to sway his constituents regarding his interview-centered method. Thus, this is a flawed argument and will have little impact on the readers unless he can provide evidence to support his opinions.

To begin with, Dr Karp compares his recent study with a twenty-year-old study conducted by Dr. Field and assumes that both have the same validity. However, with that time difference the results can greatly vary. For instance, perhaps with the advancement of technology and medicine the town of Tertia has relied less on children being raised by an entire village? Therefore, greatly changing their customs where biological parents are now solely involved.

Furthermore, the anthropologist claims that he or she conducted many interviews among different islands,but mentions to provide quantified data on how many of those interviews were conducted on Tertia. This is very important because other islands may not have the same views as Tertia. Hence, the study isn’t representative and this will severely weaken the argument is the majority of his studies were concluded on other regions. To strengthen this claim Dr. Karp must quantified his interviews. Also, the anthropologist claims that because children were talking about their biological parents Dr. Fields study must therefore be invalid. Maybe, children were talking about their biological parents because they miss them due to being raised by others? Again, this would bolster Dr. Fields study and be counterproductive to his own theory.

Lastly, Dr. Karp suggest that one study is enough to change the approach of another study. Where his interview-method supercedes Dr. fields method. If anything due to the length of time the latter is tested throughout time making it more valid.

All in all, as we can see this argument is flawed with holes and assumptions that must be addressed if dr Karp wishes to sway his readers, As of now is will not hold water.