The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The president of Humana University wants to implement more online degrees, due to the success of Omni University. However, the memorandum fails to provide evidence and answer questions that are crucial to swaying the board in favor of his or her recommendation. As it stands now this is not a cogent argument, which is rife with holes and questions that must be answered to make it hold water.

To begin with, the president states that Omni University was able to increase their enrollment by 50%. However, the author does not provide quantified evidence which can give an accurate number of the actual student count. The question that must be answered is 50% of what number? This can be a misleading claim, because 50% of 10 students will only see an increase of 5 students, in contrast with 50% of 1000 student is 500 students as you can see this is a crucial question that must me answered.

Furthermore, the president makes an unwarranted assumption that enrollment has failed to grow in the last three years, but online will solved this issue. Perhaps there is another root problem that needs to be examined. Is their tuition price competitive enough to retain students? Perhaps professor ratings are low? These question must be answered and data extrapolated to make the argument more concrete.

Finally, an important question that must be addressed is what kind of program will be online? For example, maybe Omni university only offers degree programs that can be easily managed through virtual leaning, but is not offering degrees that not viable online. For example, science majors which required live labs like chemistry or microbiology. This in turn will not bring new students that are pursuing the latter degrees. Making it a redundant recommendation.

All in all, the president of Humana University has made some claims to which there are questions to be answered. As it stands now, the argument is flawed and not persuasive enough to sway to the University board to implement his or her recommendation of online classes.