The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. "Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager of the television station makes a bold claim that ratings have gone down due to a lack of coverage regarding weather and local news. However, the author does not provide evidence to support his or her assumption. This speculation is rife with holes and inaccuracies that must be addressed with the correct supporting evidence in the following manner.

For one thing, the author makes an assumption that they're losing advertising revenue and viewers because they changed their focus from local news and weather to national news. However, can it not be that viewers are just getting their national news from smart devices now? Thus, leading to lower ratings during this time frame. Numerical data has to be provided to make an irrefutable linkage between the two of how things were before and now.

Furthermore, the author never mentions how much time has been devoted to these categories before and now. This is important evidence because time is relative as we know. For example, if they used to devote 5 mins rather than 15 mins, well this makes a huge difference. The author needs to include this information as evidence to sustain his or her view. Additionally, the author mentions that companies have canceled their late-news advertisement deals with them for the same reasons. Again, can it now be that they found cheaper platforms like social media companies and has nothing to do with what they're airing?

Finally, the manager of the television station claims that people called in to complain about the coverage of local news and weather. The author does not supply the number of persons who called and inquired about this topic. Could it be one or one hundred? There is simply no evidence to suggest that many people are concerned with local news and weather.

All in all, the business manager of the television station does not provide concrete evidence to sway corporate executives to devote more time to weather and local news to its former level. As it stands now there are too many holes and assumptions that severely weaken his or her point of view. The evidence that I discussed must be addressed if the television manager wants to persuade its directors.