The vice president for human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet inappropriately from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. Installing software on company computers to detect employees' Internet use is the best way to prevent employees from wasting time on the job. It will foster a better work ethic at Climpson and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The vice president of Climpson Industries makes a bold claim that internet usage is the main culprit who hampers productivity among its employees. However, the author does not make a cogent case to persuade the president of the company to integrate this recommendation. As it stands now this challenge is rife with assumptions and holes that need evidence to validate its implications.

To begin with, the author needs to provide evidence that collaborate his claim on which most of its employee’s “waste” time using internet exclusively on the computer. Perhaps, employees are using the internet but on their phones which would make this recommendation redundant, because the software only tracks the company’s computers. Maybe, employees do not use the internet at all but “waste” time on other recreational things like talking to each other or taking longer than necessary breaks.

Furthermore, the author needs to provide evidence on how many of its employees use computers. Perhaps, most of its workforce is station in a manufacturing plant? If that is the case this recommendation is quixotic. However, if evidence does show that most of the company’s employees use computer then the claim will bolster. This is an essential piece of evidence that must be displayed.

Lastly, the vice president assures that this software will reduce wasted time by employees and therefore increase profits. However, there is no evidence presented on how much this software costs. It could be the case that this software is much more expensive than what they will save thus exacerbating the issue at hand. Additionally, the author needs to extrapolate verifiable number of quarter profits that can be used as evidence that indeed profits are declining.

All in all, at first glance this may seem like a plausible outcome for the president of the company. However, once he takes a meticulously glance and sees a lack of evidence, he will not show favor to implementing this recommendation to his company. The argument as it stands now is weak and flawed with assumptions that need evidence to bolster its implications. The vice president must provide the evidence that is mention if he or she wishes to sway the president’s vote.