The following letter is from a group of Linford College alumni to the chair of the art department at the college.

"In a recent survey of college graduates, 90 percent agreed that participating in an internship increased their chances of finding a job after graduation, but last year, only 40 percent of Linford's graduating art students had completed an internship. Skyway Designs, located in nearby Linford City, is the perfect company for students to intern with for a number of reasons: They offer internships in all of their departments, so every student is sure to find work that they are interested in. Additionally, their internships offer flexible working hours. Finally, Skyway Designs is known for being one of the best in the design business, as over 80 percent of businesses in Linford City have used the services of Skyway Designs for their design needs. Given the vital role that work experience plays in a student's success after graduation, we recommend that our art department require all art students to complete an internship with Skyway Designs before graduation."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While a reasonable person would agree that gaining real world work experience by completing an internship will be conductive in securing a job in the future. Unfortunately, the recommendation made by Lindford college forcing its art students to complete an internship as a requirement to graduate is an argument rife with inaccuracies and holes that make it weak. In order sway students to accept this recommendation the chair of the art department must answer these following questions to defend his or her assumption.

To begin with, the survey of college students does not elucidate a representative sample of surveyees. The chairman claims that 90% or those who were questioned agreed that internships increased their chances of finding a job after graduation, but only 40% of art students completed an internship. Out of those 90% who concurred with the recommendation how many were art majors? This is an important question because other majors such as pre-med students might find it more relevant to their field than the forementioned art major in which case would make the survey invalid as evidence that art students are in agreement with the recommendation.

Furthermore, the chairman makes a bold statement that Skyway Designs has myriad of openings in various depts, thus, ensuring that every student will find a job they love. However, this opinion is too vague without any evidence to support it, so the following question should be answered. What is the employee turnover rate? Can the chairman cite employee satisfaction surveys that represent high employee satisfaction?

Lastly, the chairman or the art department declares that Skyway Designs in one of the best companies in Linford City because 80% of business have used their business at one point. The first question that must be answered is 80% of what number? This could be a relative question that can delude students’ perception of success. Additionally what was their retention rate, have customers left due to bad quality of work? Being transparent with their clients’ ratings or reviews will support this claim.

All in all, it is a reasonable argument that internships boost the chances of securing a job after graduation. However, in order to persuade students to join this recommendation the proposed question must be answered. Otherwise, this argument is filled with holes and assumptions that weaken its efforts to push an internship as a requirement for graduation among art students.