College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

From an early age we are all told to follow the compass of our heart towards a fulfilling career. That our passion will reward us and our loved ones. However, they fail to mention that love is not a panacea when it comes to financial responsibilities. While a logical person would agree that following one’s captivating joys is a no-brainer. The notion that college students should pursue their interests rather than practical in demand courses is precarious because of the detrimental effects on their future finances. At best, there should be a balance between courses that will lead to employment and those which are pure interest.

For one thing, college tuition is at its apex and student debt surpassed credit card debt for the first time in history. Attending college for interest activities is not a sagacious choice. On the contrary, if the probability of employment is low and debt is acquired. Well, this will just put more strain on our current high student debt crisis affecting every member of our society. While it may be true that financial aid and scholarships can mitigate this issue, the reality is that most students rely on private loans to attend college.

Furthermore, students from a low socioeconomic status are already dealing with financial problems. It is vital for these students to secure employment after graduation. Many have sacrificed all their resources to attain a college degree. Especially, many who are first time college students and are dealing with uncharted waters. For this reason, it is crucial to pursue courses with higher chances of leading to a job. However, it is also imperative to produce a well-balanced student with knowledge on various disciplines. The more educated a citizen the more well off a country will be. So, I would recommend that practical courses be the main emphasis of a student’s curriculum with room for electives. Much like the way grade schools operate.

In addition, we must take into consideration that not all students excel in classes that correlate with high employment. For example, disciplines like science and math can be difficult to become adept at. In this circumstance, we cannot simply discourage a student from seeking their interests due to lack of job probability. No one can predict the future, as to guarantee that their degree interest will not lead to a job. In contrast, there are many people who have made a decent living off their interests. For instance, Bill Gates a maverick who dropped out of college to follow his passion for computers in its nascent stage.

Finally, the best route that I have experienced is to pursue courses that will lead to employment. Where you can maintain a decent wage to preclude you from falling into the claws of student debt. Once, this safety net has been acquired then you can pursue those elective courses. For example, I was able to complete my engineering degree and pay off my student loans. That gave me the opportunity to return to college and follow my interest in studying music.

In conclusion, while it is reasonable to follow interests that spark your heart it is not always certain that those passions will lead to financial stability. This reflects in today’s student debt crisis. The best approach is to underscore courses that have the highest probability of producing a job with a modicum focus on electives to not feel distant from one’s passions.