The following appeared in a memorandum from the general manager of KNOW radio station.

"Several factors indicate that radio station KNOW should shift its programming from rock-and-roll music to a continuous news format. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of recorded music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. The switch from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will attract older listeners and secure KNOW radio's future."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The general manager of KNOW radio station concludes that the radio station should switch from playing rock-and-roll music to broadcasting news all day long. The author comes to this contention citing the fact that the news stations in neighboring cities saw an increase in listeners after switching to continuous news format. Before we assess the validity of this argument, the author needs to provide additional evidence against the three unwarranted assumptions stated below.

Firstly, the author assumes that the number of people over age 50 living within the vicinity of KNOW radio station has increased substantially, and that they are more inclined to listen to news than music. However, even if we consider that the population of people over age 50 prefer news over rock-and-roll, it cannot be stated with certainty that these people will resort to use radio for news. Perhaps, they prefer to consume news visually through television. It is also probable that this new generation of old people listen to radio for their daily entertainment and would prefer to hear music than news. If either of the above scenarios holds, then the author's contentions fail to hold water.

Secondly, the author assumes that the decline in sales of recorded music in stores is due to the fact that the people have grown disinterested of music. It is possible that the reason behind the drop in sales of music stores is that the recorded music is now available even in the general stores which offer discounts on bulk buy. However, there can be other reasons because of which the stores saw decline in sales. Like maybe, the people have start to use online music services, which does not require to buy a physical copy. Either of the above cases is likely to hinder the credibility of the author's assumption.

Lastly, the author assumes that there are no significant differentiating factors between the KNOW radio station and the radio stations of nearby cities, which are contributing to the success of the latter. However, it is probable that area in which that latter does business have no other means of consuming news, while the former have an efficient newspaper distribution center. It may also be possible that the latter radio stations does a trivia in addition to 24 hours news, to keep the listeners engage to the radio. In either scenario, the author's assumption is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the general manager might be right that the switch from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will attract older listeners and secure KNOW radio's future. However, as it stands now the conclusion stands on three assumptions that hinder its validity. The author needs to provide evidence for above mentioned assumptions to increase the persuasiveness of their argument