Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The prompt claims that the motivation for learning primarily depends on the individual's determination and that schools and colleges cannot by themselves be held responsible to motivate a student to learn. I mostly agree with the above argument for two main reasons, which I will elucidate below. However, I do believe that the schools and colleges can elicit the student's will to learn.

To begin, learning in any field largely depends on the person's determination, persistence and interest. The above qualities are those which initiates and fuels the learning. Albert Einstein who considered to be the one of the most intellectual person from the previous century was told by his teacher that he would would never amount to anything. Even many institutions refuted to admit him and finally he had to flew out of Germany as many people had dejected his views. However, it was Albert Einstein's determination to learning which paved his way to success. Similarly, every now and then we hear about a person who is not from a well to do family and cleared the civil service exams. It is the individual's will and interest that have brought them success.

Secondly, schools and colleges are only the medium which can guide the students to be determined and persistent, but it is the responsibility of the students to use these qualities well. Even the best and elite schools cannot make a student smart if the student is not invested to learn. These educational institutions provides equal motivations and opportunities to all the students, however, not all of the students put in equal efforts to learn. This shows that the individual's discipline plays an important role in the matter of learning.

Lastly, I do concede that sometimes these educational institutions can invoke the student's interest in learning if the provide the provide the right motivations. For example, once there was a teacher who used magnifying glass to demonstrate a student that the focus beam of sunlight can burn a paper. This student Ragunath Mashelkar who latter on became the one of the most reknowned Indian scientist had dedicated the above incident as a life changing event. Many a times the teacher's method of teaching can invoke a feeling of interest withing the students. Thus, sometimes schools and colleges can play the import aspect in the matter of learning.

In conclusion, the matter of learning largely depends on the individual determincation, however, sometimes schools and colleges can also play a part in it.