Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

If there is one thing which helps out an individual aprart from the quotidian scholarly problems in their real life , it would be the acquisition of knowledge and it's wise implementation , which can be done with the help of a process called ,learning . The prompt recommends that learning is primarly a subjective personal choice and it cannot be motivated by the institutions . I mostly agree on this view , that learning should not be a coercion among students , if so , it may have it’s consequences

First of all ,why do most of the populace end up being average (aprt from the fact that most of them are endowed with an average cognitive thinking) in their life ? in other words , why only a segment of humans in a given period ,end up successful ? the answer for these questions , lie in the fact that the latter group which had been mentioned earlier , follow their ‘heart’- which is widely known as passion and self interest. For instance , lets take the curious case of the renowed scientist Albert Einstein who failed in his primary grades . If it was not him, then our understanding of most physical process in the current world would have been in a state of quandary . Now the question arises , how was Einstein be able to achieve his place as a prominent scholar despite his poor academics early in his life ?. This is due to his learning based on purely his personal interest in the field of physics . Had he followed the ever ridden path of succumbing to societal pressure or from the motivations from his school , he would have dared to follow his passionate field of science .

Secondly , in the current competitive world , students are given the liberty to take up the subjects and research of their interest , yet most of them fail to make a mark in their carrer . why does this happen ? This may be attributed to many factors such as lack of passion , patience ,but more importantly ,a solid role model who can act as a guide for the young bright minds to excel in their sphere of expertise . For instance , I personally know a friend of mine , who despite his great academics, unfortunately .could not make a mark in his field of research . When I came to know his path , I realised that he lacked motivation form his close knit members of his family , who didn’t want to support his career . Although he was originally motivated from his academics in his school , his current position is an example of what could happen if in one’s life , he or she doesn’t have a role model or a personal supporter apart from the subsidies and backing up from their school or college.

Of course , one would argue that the ratio of people ending up successful by following their passion is minuscule , but isn’t that why it drives the passionate people to achieve an unique feat which consequently make them successful in this competitive world . Hence , students or individuals should seek a supplementary source of motivation apart from the education institutions to be successful in a long lasting manner