The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine :

"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

In the letter presented to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine , it is suggested that manned space fligts are not cost effective when compared to that of an unmanned space probe . This opinion arises as it has been demonstrated that a huge deal of information can be gathered without the cost and risks associated with sending humans into space . However , before this suggestion can be evaluated , it should answer to the following two questions

First of all , the suggestion which opines that unmanned space probe is preferred than with a manned one. But does it consider the fact that they are not the same ? do they take in account of the efficiency of a manned space probe ? It is possible that the manned and unmanned space flights are not similar at all .The manned space flight which is accompanied by men and women , has a remarkable edge than the unmanned probes in terms of space protocols and security . This can be attributed to the fact that even though the unmanned probe is automated one , it does so remain only for a limited span of life . On the other hand , the one which is supervised by humans , tend to be far more guided and even can give informations in a real time basis . This real time information sharing , sometimes can occur erroneously with respect to the unmanned space probes.If either of those scenarios has met , then the conclusion drawn in the original statement does not hold true.

Secondly , are the space research organisation and the government ready to bear the cost of unnecessary damages that occur to unmanned space probes ? Perhaps it may be true that manned space probes , which are under the supervision of humans , has a long life span and can be used to its maximum potential till its expiry . Moreover , the cost of repair is stupendous incase of an unmanned space probe when comparing it with the manned probe. This is due to the fact that being an automated machine , it has a tendency of being worn out much early . Further , as far as the unmanned space flight is concerned , it may be atmost , become irrepairable incase of damages which may happen during its mid -space voyage .This probe might then , well be labelled as unproductive and frequent cost of such incidents might sky-rocket the human investment on such resources .If the above statements are true , then the conclusion drawn in the original statement is significantly weakened

In conclusion , the argument , as it stands now , is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions . If the author is able to answer the above mentioned couple of qestions and offer more evidence , then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of proposed recommendation to prefer unmanned space probes