The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the recent letter to the editor of a national aeronautica magazine, the author mentions to invest in unmanned space flight rather than in manned space flight. He came to this conclusion based on the evidences that manned space flight is costly and dangerous, and the recent success of the unmanned space probes. Althought the claim seems plausible at first, in deep study it lacks evidences. So, futher informations are required to check the viability of the claim.

The author states that the manned space flights are costly and risky but didn't provide any evidences to prop up the same. For instance, the cost of the manned space flight might be slightly higher but the findings may be worthy of the cost. Also, the what are the risk associated with the manned space flights? If our aim is to settle humans in the other celesitial bodies then the risk might be worthy. If any of the above has merit then the argument falls apart.

Similarly, the author hasn't mentioned any information regarding the space flights. What are the main reasons to send the spaceships? If might be to search the extraterrestrial living beings. Or, it might be to find the suitability of the other planets for habitat. If these are the reasons then to send the manned space flights may be of great use. And also, if any of these have merit then the argument as a whole doesn't hold water.

In addition, the author lacks to provide explictly the type of success with the unmanned probes. He mentioned the great deal of information was gathered. But, it might be more useful to send manned space flights. Also, we are unaware of the distance of the space flight from the earth. If the plan is to reach far distant planets like mars, then it might be helpful to send the manned space flight than the unmanned ones. If any of these hold true, then the argument as a whole is significantly weakened.

In sum, the argument as a whole is based on many unwarrented assumptions and the evidence provided are inadequate as mentioned above. So, the aforementioned evidences in the form of systematic research are necessary to analyze the practicability of the claim to invest on the unmanned space flight.