The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

According to the letter provided to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine, the author concludes that they should invest in unmanned space flight compare to manned space flight. The author concludes this, on the basis of recent success of series of unmanned space probes and statellites. The argument rest on series of assumptions which are unpersuasive and illogical. A few key factors to prove it are:

First, the author states that the manned space flight are costly and dangerous. The author has not mention how much more cost does it takes for a manned space flight to operate compare then unmanned. Furthermore, there is no mention of the risk or any kind of accidents which might have been caused due to manned space flight. If the author wants to make his point stronger then he should have provide us with all the facts and figures comparing the cost and safety of unmanned and manned space flights.

Secondly, author states that due recent success of unmanned space probes and statellites they should focus more on unmanned compare than manned space flight. There are many instances when an automatic instruction cannot be helpful. It could happen that the coarse of the unmanned space flight shifts due to some reason and we are not able to control it from the ground. This could led to a serious problem and a larger accident could be caused. If this happen in a manned space flight then there are some chances that the astronaut whould be able to control the flight and prevent the accident from happening.

Thirdly, the author claims that the unmanned space probes are sufficient in gathering information. So, there is no need to send men and women to space. Sending a space flight is a costly process and if we are sending one we need an accurate data. It might happen that due to some error the unmanned space probe are not able to gather information, but this would not be a case in manned space flight as a human can always gather the information. Unmanned space probes are prefeeded with instruction and no new instruction can be given to them whereas, this is not the case with manned space flight they are given few instructions and they can act in some way when special needs are required.

In conclusion, if we stop investing in manned space flight then it would stop the progress of the society. If humankind wants to settle on some other planet in the future, then human needs to explore the space and see that can a human survive. So, by just investing the resources in unmanned space flight would be a prudent choice.