Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The proverb "there are no shortcuts to success" well explains the need for hardwork in a person's life. Such hardwork complements with well define goals. The prompt claims that working for long-term, realistic goals are more beneficial for young people than pursuing to seek immediate fame and recognition. I mostly agree with the above argument for two main reasons, which I will elucidate below. However, I do believe that such long-term goals can have its own challenges.

To begin, the long-term goals generally result in better returns than its short-term counterparts. It also comes with lessons that teach one to survive even when they fail to reach their destination. Famous scientists are good examples of the above statement. Many-a-time, scientists fail to achieve that one wish within their lifetime. For example, Stefan Hawking and Albert Eienstien who dedicated their life to the study of universe and its mysteries, were not able to empherically verify the existence of black whole, solely due to the limited technological advancement of their time. However, the discovery of a black hole boosted their importance to the society even after all these years. While, failure is not an option for the people looking for short-term fame and recognition. Hence, long-term goal teaches a person to look over the superficial fame and work for the betterment of oneself.

Secondly, even though a person is able to achieve the fame and recognition from a short-term goal, that person's problem is likely to increase thereafter. Manya times, rockstars and rappers do get famous from their single track. However, such stars fall into the traps of the instance limelight and are more stressed for producing better music. We know many of such star whose conditions worsened with time, i.e. declaring bankrupcy only a few years latter or hitting the headline for drugs usage. Studies shows people who are chasing instant fame on social media are normally more stressed and suffers from anxiety. Thus, I believe one should try to avoid such paths.

However, I do believe that setting up such long-term goals have its own challenges. Many people overstimate the results when trying to set a long-term plan. Such people will either fail to achieve their target or will be disappointed with the results. Also, even though this path teaches one with lessons in both failure and success, sometimes people stop trying futher, or even worst, misunderstand these lessons and just repeat the past. But, such issues can be reduce if the person evaluates the lessons well. Many successful startup owners are well examples of this statement, as they have seen both the failure and the success. Thus, I believe one should be careful when planning a long-term goals.

In conclusion, it is important for young people to avoid the shortcuts to fame and build a long-term goal which will benefit them.