The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The director of a large group of hospitals concludes that their hospital chain should switch from using liquid hand soaps to concentrated solution of UltraClean to help fight against bacteria. The author comes to this contention based on the foundings from the studies published by a laboratory. Before, we assess the validity of the argument, the author needs to provide additional evidence against the three unwarranted assumptions stated below.

Firstly, the author assumes that the study conducted by the laboratory holds merit. However, there can be multiple reasons which severily damages the conclusion of this study. Like it is possible that the company or industry that manufactures the UltraClean solution have in some way rigded the studies by providing a substantial amount to the laboratory to publish false results or perhaps this laboratory is fraudalent by itself. It is also possible that the studies were conducted in specific environment such that the result is not applicable in rest of the places. If either of the above scenarios holds, the author's contention fails to hold water.

Secondly, the author assumes that all the rest of the hospital will see similar results as one observed in the hospital in Workby. It is likely that the result of test performed in hospital in Workby where fewer cases of patient infection were reported was an anomality and it does not represent the ideal condition for all the hospitals. Perhaps, extra attention was paid on cleanliness when these tests were conducted and the reduction in cases of bacteria infection was just resulted from these extra precautions. Whereas, it is also possible that there were relatively fewer patients present in the hospital at the time when the tests were been perform. This factor might have hamper the spread of bacteria as the human intervention is limited. In either scenarios, the author's assumption is significantly weakened,

Lastly, the author assumes that the UltraClean solution is a much better fit than liquid hand soaps when fighting against severe bacteria. However, it is probable that UltraClean solution works best on bacteria which does not produce much harm on patient and is rendered useless where harmful bacteria comes into picture. It is also possible that liquid hand soaps works on more variety of bacteria than UltraClean solution and thus is likely to be much more effective in places like hospital, where there are possibily different strains of bacteria. Either of the above two cases is likely to hinder credibility of the author's assumption.

In conclusion, the director might be right that the group of hospitals should switch to UltraClean solution for better results against bacteria. However, as it stands now the conclusion is based on three assumptions that hinders its validity. Thus, author needs to provide evidence for the above mentioned assumption to increase the persuasiveness of the conclusion.